Follow C & G News on Facebook Follow C & G News on Twitter Google+ Pinterest feed Connect to the C & G RSS feed

Select a sport


Oakland County

Oakland Activities Association honors top hockey players for 2012-13

April 5, 2013

» click to enlarge «
West Bloomfield’s Ellis Fried, right, was one of four Lakers players named All-Association.

The sun has returned, and for many, winter is a distant memory.

But for a select group of players who donned skates and sweaters during the cool months, the winter season was a chance to shine.

Now, coaches from the Oakland Activities Association recognized the best of the best, announcing the 2012-13 All-Association rosters.

Red Division
Rochester United took home the Red Division crown with a 5-2-0 mark and also boasted the division MVP in Michael Pelino and the Goalie of the Year in Kyler Patenaude.

Farmington Hills Unified took second at 4-1-2, followed by Rochester Hills Stoney Creek (3-2-2), Clarkston High (3-2-2), Farmington High (1-3-3), Lake Orion High (1-3-3), Birmingham Unified (2-5-0) and Oxford High (2-4-1).

All-Association honors go to Pelino, Patenaude, Max Harper, Nick Marek and Kevin Kurzeja, Rochester; Reede Burnett, Eric Stanis, Thaddeous Zak and Eamon Devlin, Farmington United; Hayden Richardson, Chris Stanbury, Josh Niederhauser and Maxx Grant, Stoney Creek; Adam Johns, Garrett Polish and Jacob Lapotre, Clarkston; Cooper McLean, Nick Gensheimer and John Lethemon, Farmington; Brennen Orr and Connor Novack, Oxford; Ryan Szydlowski and Mark Nylen, Lake Orion; and Adam Susalla and Jacob Saroli, Birmingham.

White Division
When the season began, Berkley-Ferndale Unified coach Jeff Fleming wasn’t sure if his guys could duplicate last year’s success.

Well, they did.

The Bears rolled to a 10-2-0 record in the OAA White, watched as Joey Leider took home MVP honors and Stephen Wroe claimed Goalie of the Year, and nabbed their second straight division title.

West Bloomfield High took second at 8-3-1, followed by Bloomfield Hills United (4-5-3), Troy High (4-6-2), Royal Oak High (4-7-1), Auburn Hills Avondale (3-6-3) and Troy Athens (2-6-4).

All-Association honors go to Leider, Wroe, Robby Flannery, Zach Segall and Ian Melrose, Berkley; J.J. Bloom, Ellis Fried, Ryan Houle and Cody Jones, West Bloomfield; Chase Smith, Kevin Barnett, Johnny Artemenko and Nick Dingwall, Bloomfield; Colin McLean, Edmund Qiao and Joel Brodzinski, Troy; Kevin Trumble, Max Benoit and Evan Fall, Royal Oak; Craig Zimmerman and Emmett Wagner, Avondale; and Nathan Gurzell and Cory Faw, Athens.


October 05, 2015

Romeo Bulldogs

Romeo remained undefeated by defeating Macomb Dakota 26-14 in a Macomb Area Conference crossover that paired two of the top-ranked teams in Michigan. Romeo’s defense came into the game having surrendered just 13 points all season, and helped seal the win with a safety and interception return for touchdown by Brad Tanner in the fourth quarter. Romeo earned its first win against Dakota since 2010.

You May Be Interested In