Warren, MI: 37°F
Weather forecast is unavailable at the moment.
Sorry for the inconvenience.
Follow C & G News on Facebook Follow C & G News on Twitter Google+ Pinterest feed Connect to the C & G RSS feed

Macomb County

Published April 2, 2014

Macomb Area Conference recognizes best hockey players

The 2013-14 Macomb Area Conference hockey season has come and gone, with teams in the 13-squad league seeing varying degrees of success.

With the conclusion of the season, MAC officials have released the All-League teams and have also honored players and coaches with MVP and Coach of the Year awards.

League officials also announced that, for the sixth year, the MAC Coaches Association will give out three $500 scholarships to seniors who played hockey in the MAC. More information can be found at Applications are due April 15, and the winners’ names will be released via April 20.

MAC Red Division
Macomb Dakota senior forward Matt Riehl was named league MVP. Cougars coach Mike Jakubik earned Coach of the Year honors.

All-League honorees are Riehl, and seniors Austin Azzopardi and Vaughn Treppa, Dakota; junior Jack Tobiczyk and senior Alex Schneider, Utica Eisenhower; sophomore Conner Victory and senior Mitchell Kusch, St. Clair Shores Unified; and senior Kyle King, Marysville.

Dakota went 6-0-0 to win the division title. Eisenhower finished second at 4-2-0, followed by St. Clair Shores (2-4-0) and Marysville (0-5-0-1).

MAC White
Romeo High senior Mitch Pacitti earned league MVP honors, while his coach, John Minjoe, was named Coach of the Year.

All-League honorees are Pacitti, junior Dustin Fleming, and seniors Hunter Jenuwine and Kyle Hansen, Romeo; seniors Ken Wurth and Aaron Mizgalski, Sterling Heights Stevenson; junior Dante Bartolomeo, Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse; senior D.J. LaBash, Utica High; and senior Justin Thompson, Macomb L’Anse Creuse North.

Romeo went 8-0-0 to claim the league title. Stevenson finished second at 5-3-0, followed by L’Anse Creuse (4-4-0), Utica (3-5-0) and L’Anse Creuse North (0-7-0-1).

MAC Blue
Anchor Bay junior Austin Koleski was named league MVP. Tars coach Mel Rettell earned Coach of the Year honors.

All-League honorees are Koleski, and seniors Mitchell Day and Shane DiDonato, Anchor Bay; seniors Brandon Mezuk and Shane Mackin, Warren Mott; juniors Will Kriewall and Dayne Davis, Port Huron High; and junior Zach Zombo, Fraser.

Anchor Bay finished 6-0-0 to win the league championship. Mott placed second at 4-2-0, followed by Port Huron (1-4-0) and Fraser (0-4-0-1).

You May Be Interested In