Follow C & G News on Facebook Follow C & G News on Twitter Google+ Pinterest feed Connect to the C & G RSS feed

Current Weather


Mount Clemens

Canoe Classic winners announced

August 20, 2014

» click to enlarge «
During the second annual Clinton River Canoe Classic on June 28, the single-person canoe race attracted 53 entries, while the two-person race had 72 participants and the kayak event drew 20 racers. Organizers called it more successful that the first year.

MOUNT CLEMENS — The second annual Clinton River Canoe Classic, held June 28, has been declared a “huge success” by officials from the Macomb County Public Works office, which sponsored the event.

“We had a large number of canoeists and kayakers taking part. The sun was shining brightly, and the races went off without a hitch,” said Public Works Commissioner Anthony Marrocco.

He said the single-person canoe race attracted 53 entries, while the two-person race had 72 participants and the kayak event drew 20 racers.

The crowd was entertained by guest deejay Brian Bagozzi, of One for the Road, and a flyboarding display was performed by Viscosity Sports, of Harrison Township. The Rec Bowl served hot dogs, burgers and cold drinks from a food tent on site.

The Clinton River Canoe Classic is sanctioned by the Michigan Canoe Racing Association. It is organized as a nonprofit established by Marrocco to promote awareness, stewardship and improvement of the Clinton River watershed. The 2014 races offered prize purses totaling $20,000.

The canoe group is partnering with the Clinton River Watershed Council to install paddling way-finding signs along the Clinton River and has staged a series of river clean-outs. The event attracted canoeists from as far away as New York, Nebraska, Indiana and Quebec, Canada. The number of racers was the most in the Midwest racing circuit, Marrocco said.

The top three winners in the races and their purses were: single-person canoe race: first place, Andrew Triebold, $1,500; second  place, Ben Schlimmer, $1,200; and third place, Mathieu St. Pierre, $900.

Two-person canoe race: first place, Ryan Halstead and Mathieu St. Pierre, $2,000; second place Nick Walton and Christopher Prouix, $1,500; and third place, Andy Triebold and Steve Kolonich, $1,200.

Kayak race: first place, John Van Houten, $100 gift card; second place, Richard Ewsley, $40 gift card; and third place, Earl Gardner, $25 gift card.

About the author

Staff Writer Julie Snyder covers Harrison Township, Mount Clemens, Macomb County, L’Anse Creuse Public Schools, and Mount Clemens Community Schools for the Journal. She has worked for C & G Newspapers since 2003, and attended the University of Toledo with degrees in journalism and photography. Julie has received several awards for her work in Arizona and Washington, including AP awards in Arizona for breaking news reporting and feature writing.

For more local news coverage, see the following newspaper:


Most Popular

You May Be Interested In